Healer’s Arrogance: 10 Things We May Find Ourselves Doing

I thought I would talk a bit today about arrogance. And especially, the arrogance I sometimes see in people doing healing work.

(I am by no means saying that I never do any of these things, or that I am somehow superior or inferior to those who do these things. I am merely making observations.)

What is healer’s arrogance?

  1. It’s letting ego get in the way of healing. It’s deciding that our experiences and our world view is the only correct experiences and world views. Those who think differently or have different experiences either aren’t doing it right, or just haven’t developed enough, evolved enough, reached a high enough level of understanding.
  2. It’s forgetting that as healers we do work to help others reach their own level of healing. It’s trying to pull people to our level of understanding and where we think their healing should end up instead of allowing others to reach their own level of healing and understanding.
  3. It’s getting caught up in games of one-upmanship. I’m so evolved, my soul is so old, I was a mighty head muckymup in a previous life, and forgetting that it is this life here and now that we are living.
  4. It’s focusing so much on how we have given up ego entirely that we forget bragging about having no ego is just as egotistical.
  5. It’s claiming I never do that, quite vehemently at times. But then turning around and doing it. Usually when talking about things like judging others, or living in ego. Or trying desperately to convince ourselves and others that we never have doubts about the work we are doing or our role in this world.
  6. It’s refusing to allow others to see our imperfections, our mistakes, our errors. But trying to maintain an image of always knowing, always being connected to Spirit.
  7. It’s calling people insulting names or telling them they’re wrong, evil, bad, misguided, not as enlightened because they don’t eat the same foods you eat, do the same meditations you do, follow the same spiritual practices. And trying to convince those people they will never find “true healing” unless they change their ways.
  8. It’s telling others that they must be doing something wrong when healing doesn’t come, instead of considering whether or not we’re the right healer for this person.
  9. It’s buying into the myth of true-ness. One true way. True shamans always do this, True healers never do that.
  10. It’s reading through a list like this and immediately thinking of other people who do these things, but refusing to consider that we may be doing them, too.
4 Comments

Filed under Healing Practice

4 responses to “Healer’s Arrogance: 10 Things We May Find Ourselves Doing

  1. Bob

    Yesterday I was asking myself about the ego and Healing and how to balance it all out, I threw up this question to the Energies, and here today I run across this article …AWESOME….

    • And this morning I threw it up to the Energies – what can I write about, and this is what came to me.

      I’m thankful for the words which were given to me.

    • Finally, another person that has addressed this issue! Having started this path at a very young age guided by a gracious God, I always knew my abilities were gifts and I was to show gratitude every day to God for them. As I began to work with others, I would often encounter other practitioners that would “correct” or make comments regarding my techniques or teachings in front of clients or students. I would often think, and sometimes said to close friends, that there is a subgroup of practitioners that must wear t-shirts with a capital “H” for “healer” on them, and obviously I was not one of them. I have never referred to myself as a healer for just that reason, and would encourage my clients and students to explore and empower themselves, and that we are all capable of healing ourselves with God’s grace, as Jesus tells us in the bible. Now at last I can talk openly and freely regarding my consternation with this problem, and I can quote your article so that others will know I am not just making it up but sharing another’s thoughts! Thank you! I will bookmark and refer my students and clients to this article.

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

