Why I Call Myself Healer

Wednesday evening I was involved in an international online discussion over Blog Talk Radio on Healers and Healing, and it focused on the personal use of the word Healer as a descriptive term. The consensus amongst most of the participants, who came from all over the world and from many different cultural backgrounds, was that one should not call themselves a Healer, that the use of such titles were the result of Ego, and from at least one person, anyone who called themselves Healer wasn’t a “real healer”.

As is my nature, I spent much of the time actively listening to what was being said, and making the rare contribution via the available chat room.

When contemplating the discussions in my own mind, I found that there was much I agreed with. Ego can and does get in the way of healing work, especially when we focus too much on guiding outcomes. However, I disagree with the idea that one cannot call themselves a Healer. And this is why.

The Hollow Bone

Most of the participants in Wednesday’s discussion have a background in Native North American spiritual traditions, and when they talk about the sending of healing energy they compare themselves to a Hollow Bone through which the energy flows. Others describe themselves as being a reed. I myself have referred to being a conduit, or tube.

The healing energy does not originate from the Healer, it is not created by the Healer. Instead, this Energy moves through the Healer. It comes from the Earth, from Universe, from Spirit, from God/Deity.

The Healer provides the means through which this Energy can travel, making it more readily accessible by the recipient.

Don’t Discount the Messenger

Where I have trouble with this analogy is when I see the role of the Healer being discounted. Yes, I believe that the Healer acts as a conduit through which healing energy can flow. Let’s not disregard just how important this role is for a person receiving healing. Without the Healer, the Energy would have no way of flowing to the recipient.

Yes, I do believe that I don’t heal anyone. I only provide an access to Healing Energies which the recipient may not have been able to access while acting alone. My role as a facilitator of healing is important in this equation.

If we each have the ability to heal ourselves, why do we need to see other Healers? Yes, I do self-healing work but when I know I have a deep-seated issue needing healing I go to someone else to receive healing from them. Why?

Because I know at those times that I need that Healing energy to move through another Healer in order to facilitate appropriate healing and change.

Ego can and does come into play here. How often when doing healing work on yourself, do you find yourself trying to direct that healing to where you think it should go, instead of allowing it to flow where it needs to go? Yeah, I do it to.

The Paradox of Ego

I know when my Ego is getting in the way of the Healing work I do because it is then that I find myself focusing on what I want the outcome to be.

But, a complete denial of Ego’s place in healing work can lead to hubris, a sense of “I always do this work in service from a place of complete selflessness and anyone who doesn’t work in this same way is doing it wrong/ is not a ‘True Healer’.”

And that, is also Ego controlling outcome.

The tube connecting source with recipient is just as important as both the source and the recipient

My service as a Healer matters. The work I do as a Healer is important, it has worth. That is why I freely and proudly call myself a Healer.

It’s when we forget this, when the Tube through which Healing flows begins to think itself more important than either the Source or the Recipient, that problems start to arise.

2 Comments

Filed under Healing Practice, Shamanic Healing

2 responses to “Why I Call Myself Healer

  1. Pingback: Caring for the Caregiver | The Healing Room

  2. Pingback: Beware the Ego Trap of Selflessness | The Healing Room

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

