Soul Midwifery Course Update

I promised to provide updates on where I am in taking the Soul Midwifery course and decided it’s time to let you know where  I am at.

I have just completed and turned in the papers for the Introduction to Soul Midwifery Course.

The questions prompted a lot of soul searching, looking at my reasons for wanting to follow this path and I thought it would be right to share some of the questions and my responses here.

 

dancing flame

Dancing flame created by NanLT at http://www.silkweave.com

What are your hopes and dreams for the future?

How will you live your life?

What needs to be in place to you to achieve your goals?

I knew it as a young girl, and I know it to be true even more today. I am a Healer. My life purpose is to bring healing to others. Sometimes, healing means letting death happen. And I can think of no greater purpose than to be there with someone supporting them during this final life transition.

So, my hopes and dreams today are to work as a healer for others. I have no desire to return to the work I did before as a nurse, I know my focus needs to be on energy and shamanic healing work, and through this working with those who are dying.

The work I do will have to be alongside my role as a now single mother. I know this will impact on my ability to travel and be with “friends” as I will have to do a great deal of my work around school hours and school holidays at least for the next 4 years.

Right now, I am firmly committed to my goal of being a Soul Midwife. There are important points with regards to family, child care, and finances which I need to consider, but I trust that things will happen as they should for me.

 

Emergence created by NanLT at www.silkweave.com

Emergence created by NanLT at http://www.silkweave.com

 

Do you already work with the dying?How does that affect your views on death and dying?

Have you ever lost someone close to you? When did they die? How did their death affect you?

What do you think makes a ‘good’ death?

 When I worked as a nurse I witnessed the deaths of hundreds of people over time, more so when I worked in the critical care setting. I also did some volunteer work through a local hospice for about 1 year during this time.

 Many of my family members have died over the years. In the culture I was raised in children were not shielded from death, and so I have memories of attending the funeral service of a cousin who died in 1971 when he was 6 weeks old. I would have been 5 years old then. I also remember being at the funeral services of 2 of my great-grandparents as a child. When I was a teenager, my paternal grandparents died and my remaining great-grandmother died when I was at university. My maternal grandparents died after I moved to the UK. Last August, my father died and I was greatly saddened at not being able to fly back to the US for the service.

 I think that looking back, I was most affected by my maternal grandmother’s death in 1998. She taught me a lot as a child and it wasn’t until I was a parent myself that I realised just how much love and stability she had given me when I was growing up.

 I think for myself, my definition of a good death is greatly influenced by what I observed when working as a nurse. A good death isn’t drawn out, but also allowed time to say goodbye. A good death is one that comes without pain or discomfort. With a good death, the person’s desires are respected and followed as much as possible.

 My views towards death are very much influenced by my experiences as a nurse and also by my personal religious and spiritual beliefs. I believe that death is a natural part of the circle of life. I believe that when we die, our soul goes to a place to rest and review the lessons we had set out to learn in that life time. Did we learn the lessons? What other lessons do we need to learn? When we are ready, our soul is born once again into a new life.

Rebirth created by NanLT at www.silkweave.com

Rebirth created by NanLT at http://www.silkweave.com

 

What frightens you the most about dying?

I don’t fear death in itself. I have for some time seen it as being a natural part of living. My fears around my own death are not for what might happen to my soul after my death, but for those who remain behind – my children, family and friends. Will they be prepared and will I have had the time to teach them the skills they need to move forward in life.

 

What could you do now to make your death easier for those you love?

What would be a good death for you?

I have talked to my family about what my wishes are in the event I become so ill I am not able to function. They know that I would not wish to be kept alive in such a situation.

A good death would be one in which I do not suffer needlessly, and one in which life is not prolonged at any cost. I do not see death as an enemy to be fought against.

I have also talked to family about some of my wishes for a memorial service. I know I want my body to be cremated. I see the memorial service as being more for the living than for the dead, so I want any service held for me to be a celebration of my life, and not a mourning of my death.

Healing hands by NanLT

Healing hands by NanLT

Now that I have turned in the paperwork, I will continue regular contemplation on the questions raised, and my answers. And continue to save up money to go towards paying for the first level course.

If you feel so inclined, I have a button over in the right-hand column where you can make a donation to help me pay for this training. I am offering a distance Reiki treatment or an Amulet of the Goddess oracle reading in exchange for any donation, just contact me for details.

2 Comments

Filed under Soul Midwifery

2 responses to “Soul Midwifery Course Update

  1. Pingback: Dealing with family | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  2. Pingback: Soul Midwife Training | The Healing Room

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

