Breaking Down the Reiki Principles: Do Not Anger

The five Reiki Principles developed by Mikao Usuiare taught to new students in nearly every Reiki

Preceptos Reiki

Reiki Precepts (Photo credit: César.)

tradition. While the phrasing may be different, the basics behind each are the same.

The secret method of inviting good fortune.
The marvellous medicine for all sickness.

Just for today:
1) Do not be irate
2) Do not be worried
3) Be grateful
4) Work hard
5) Be kind to others.

Every morning and every night, sit in the Gassho position and speak these words out loud in your heart.
For the evolution of body and soul, Usui Reiki Ryoho

– Mikao Usui

I would like to spend time looking at each of these principles in turn. While the phrases are quite simplistic to say and learn, they can become very complex when you start thinking about them.

The Principles start with three word: Just for Today

They don’t have to be followed tomorrow. I don’t need to beat myself up for not following it yesterday. All I have to do is focus on right here and right now, living entirely in the moment.

I will not anger


I, meaning me, meaning I don’t need to be concerned with whether other people (even other Reiki practitioners) are following the principles.

Will not

It doesn’t say should not or cannot. I am not emotion-less. Each time a situation comes which could possibly lead to anger, I can make a conscious decision in how I act. I can act instead of reacting mindlessly.


Anger is an emotion. It is neither good nor bad. It just is. What matters here is not the emotion itself, but how that emotion manifests itself.

When you make a conscious decision to act on the cause of the anger rather than reacting mindlessly to the emotion, anger no longer controls you.

This is not a call to not feel anger. It is telling you to not let anger control your actions.

Anger, when focused brings about needed changes in your life. Anger, when unfocused brings devastation.

The Dance of Anger:
A Woman’s Guide to Changing the Patterns of Intimate Relationships
Dance of Anger

Over 20 years ago, I picked up a book that changed how I deal with anger completely. I had built up resentment on top of resentment, stuffed away every moment of wrongdoing committed against me. Sometimes as a result of being taught as a child that anger was “wrong”, sometimes as a result of being taught as a woman that anger was not appropriate for my gender. The end result was that I feared anger, and feared what I thought would happen if I were to ever let that anger out. The Dance of Anger by Harriet Lerner showed me I could feel anger and express anger in my relationships with others without destroying those relationships completely.



Filed under Reiki, Reiki Training

6 responses to “Breaking Down the Reiki Principles: Do Not Anger

  1. Pingback: Breaking Down the Reiki Principles: Do Not Worry | The Healing Room

  2. Pingback: Some Thoughts on Reiki |

  3. Pingback: Breaking Down the Reiki Principles: Be Grateful | The Healing Room

  4. Pingback: Breaking Down the Reiki Principles – Work Hard | The Healing Room

  5. Pingback: Breaking Down the Reiki Principles: Be Kind to Others | The Healing Room

  6. Pingback: The Reiki Principles as I Understand Them | The Healing Room

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s