Does Reiki Lineage Matter?

When I was initially trained in Reiki, I was given a sheet of paper along with other information which listed the instructors full Reiki lineage. That sheet sat in my Reiki notebook for over a decade, unneeded.

In fact, I had hardly even looked at it until I went to join The Reiki Association and needed to produce that lineage in order to join. Later, I went to a gathering of Reiki practitioners and the one question every person asked me was “What’s your lineage?” I had no idea – I’d not memorised the list!

Since ultimately all Reiki can trace itself back to Mikao Usui, does it matter what path the lineage takes between him and me? Or him and you?

I’ve seen too many Reiki practitioners and proponents of various Reiki traditions with an attitude of “Our lineage is better than their lineage”. “Our teachings are more authentic than their teachings.”

Some UK Reiki groups don’t accept full membership unless a practitioner has been trained in Usui Shiki Ryoho Reiki, it is seen as being the only authentic Reiki tradition. One particular group won’t accept membership from people who have trained in another specific lineage.

I think it’s disgusting myself.

Reiki is a form of energy healing, one among many which has developed around the world, and amongst several which have come out of Japan and China, including Qi Gung, Tai Chi, Hado, and other meditative arts.

While they might have different origins, their source is the same. The universal energy, chi, qui, prana, mana, ruach, orgone, barraka. The Practitioner is merely a vessel through which this energy moves.

If this is true, then does it matter whether one became attuned to Reiki energy via person A or person B? Does it matter if he trained in Usui Shiki Ryoho or Karuna Reiki?

I say it doesn’t, but what do you think?

10 Comments

Filed under Reiki

10 responses to “Does Reiki Lineage Matter?

  1. Hi NanLT, I completely agree with You, Linage is nice to have but the Reiki Energy is from within the Person that has been attuned, I am sure Usui Would not mind if you were trained in a different style as it were. you go ahead and keep doing what you do.

    • nanlt

      Ironically enough, I have been trained to Master-Teacher level in Usui Shiki Ryoho Reiki, the version which most UK Reiki organisations require you to have in order to obtain full membership and qualify for a discounted indemnity insurance rate. Yet the other versions of Usui Reiki which are now coming out of Japan are not recognised. Only the version which passed through Takata is recognised.

  2. I completely agree with you NanLT is does not matter who you were attuned by as long as you were attuned. I am sure Usui would not mind in the least, as long as you were dong the healing using Reiki, after all Reiki is Reiki. isn’t it.

  3. I am also a Usui Shiki Ryoho Reiki Master and agree that the British have got it wrong by not recognising other versions of Reiki. Reiki is Reiki ! The healing energy is the same. Great blog thanks for sharing.

  4. Pingback: Some Thoughts on Reiki |

  5. Pingback: Reiki Hand Positions: Help or Hindrance? | The Healing Room

  6. Pingback: UK Healthcare Council Now Accepts Reiki « Holistic Words

  7. Pingback: Do You Need Indemnity Insurance? | The Healing Room

  8. Pingback: Looking At Reiki Lineage | The Healing Room

  9. I agree with you all the devisiveness I said simply has to end before anyone can be a clear channel

I enjoy reading your responses, so please let me know what you think.

